My First Glossybox Has Arrived…

Well, my first and second. When I arrived at my parents’ house this past weekend (I still get my mail sent there) there were no less than two Glossyboxes waiting for me. I’ve been dying to open them up since before my trip to Spain! Are you up for an unboxing and a mini review on the ones I’ve tried? Let’s jump right in, we have a lot to get through:_MG_2706_MG_2715_MG_2733_MG_2738Inside the April box:

  1. Matrix Biolage ColorLast Shampoo & Conditioner – Meant to keep your color from fading, balance moisture and even out your hairs surface for intense color that lasts. My thoughts: Never heard of these before, but I’m excited to try them out and see if they work. They smell quite nice and I like the small size making it easy for travelling.

  2. Emite Make Up L312 Lip Brush – It says this lip brush is cut diagonally resulting in precise application of lipstick. The card also mentions that it has synthetic bristles which makes for easy cleaning and that it can be used to draw a thick eyeliner as well. My thoughts: I don’t really use lip brushes, but I’m sure I can find a use for this brush.

  3. Être Belle Liplift Peel – Exfoliator that gently  removes dead skincells and makes your lips soft. Full size product. My thoughts: I’ve been meaning to buy a lip exfoliant for some time now so this could not be more perfect. I’ve tried it and it does what it says, it’s not life-changing or anything but it does make my lips smoother (keep in mind my lips aren’t chapped to begin with).

  4. Yu-Be Moisturizing Skin Cream – Calming cream that gives deep moisturization to dry skin. My thoughts: It feels nice on the skin, but it earns a few minus points as it doesn’t have a very pleasant scent and will only be enough for about 2-3 uses.

  5. Brilliant Smile Whitening Boost Toothpaste – A whitening treatment in the form of a toothpaste. To be used twice a day for two weeks. The second full size product in this box. My thoughts: I’m always up for trying out teeth whitening products, so I’m excited about this. If I like it, I’ll get back to you!

_MG_2712_MG_2747_MG_2748Inside the March box:

  1. Mitchell And Peach Body Cream – Nourishing body cream that contains honey, organic cocoa, vitamin B5 and sheabutter. My thoughts: oh my word, this smells SO GOOD! It’s not the kind of scent I would usually go for but I find it surprisingly delicious. As for doing what it’s supposed to I have yet to find out about that.

  2. Sleek Pout Paint in Milkshake and Mauve Over – Described as a unique lipstain in the sense that you can choose how much coverage you want; simply layer it up for a more pigmented look. My thoughts: I was excited to see Sleek products in my box but I must say I don’t really get the description of this lipstain. When I tried it out, the color was super pigmented right of the bat. Definitely no need for layering! Maybe I’m doing it wrong? It also doesn’t have an applicator so you have to use your hands or a brush (maybe that lip brush from the other box will have a purpose after all?). Over all an okay product, I just have to figure out the best way to use it.

  3. Models Own Nail Polish – Surely this needs no description, we all know what a nailpolish is, don’t we? My thoughts: If you’ve ever tried a nailpolish from Models Own, you know that the quality isn’t exactly top notch. I would’ve preferred a solid color as I already have two nailpolishes similar to this, in fact I think this is the cheaper, less good glitter version of the gorgeous Essie Shine Of The Times.

  4. Egyptian Magic All Purpose Skin Cream – Very rich cream that moisturizes and repairs – a lifesaver for dry knuckles, elbows, lips, etc. Contains only natural ingredients. My thoughts: I’ve been wanting to try this actually. I have high hopes for this one.

  5. MeMeMe Cosmetics Compact Mirror – Pretty self-explanatory. I didn’t already have one so this comes in handy for me.

Over all I’m pretty pleased with the products received. Some hits, some misses but what I enjoyed most was the unboxing. The packaging is so pretty and there’s something really exciting about not knowing what you get. I will definitely keep my subscription, for now. P.S. the best part is that the lid of these boxes fit perfectly in my VERY shallow drawers in my vanity, so there will be a little DIY going on in the near future. Yay! Maybe I can finally get my makeup properly organized!

Do you subscribe to any of these types of boxes?

Leave a Reply

