Top 3: Foundations

All through 8-11th grade I struggled immensely with redness in my cheeks. And I’m not talking about a cute pink flush, I’m talking bright tomato red on my quite fair skin, impossible to miss. It was a huge insecurity of mine. And back then it never even occurred to me to use foundation to cover it up because I never knew there existed ones good enough. I had experimented a little with makeup in 7th grade without much luck so I gave up on it. But then I started watching beauty videos on Youtube and found out about brands other than L’Oréal, Maybelline and Max Factor, and that was the start of the never-ending foundation hunt. Two years later, I’ve tested quite a few, resulting in my top 3 foundation picks as of right now:

ImageImageImage

Nars Sheer Glow Foundation – My perfect everyday foundation. It gives you a slight glow, has medium to high coverage and lasts all day long.

Chanel Vitalumière Aqua Foundation – Perfect for those days where your skin is looking pretty good but still needs something to spruce it up a bit. It offers a light coverage, maybe light-medium if you build it up. It has a dewey finish and evens out your skin tone. The only slight issue I have with this is that it has a quite strong scent to it. It doesn’t irritate my skin in any way but I always like it when products don’t have a distinct scent to it. This is a personal preference of course, I can imagine a lot of people likes the scent of this as it’s not unpleasant at all.

Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation – Oh my. I cannot get enough of this foundation. If they had a larger and less orange color selection, I would wear this all year long. But unfortunately I’m only able to wear this when I have a summer tan. This is pretty much the only foundation I use in the summer. It gives you that amazing fresh faced, glowing skin, while still looking natural. It’s medium coverage and looks best when applied with your fingers or the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush. I first applied this with my Jemma Kidd Pro foundation brush and it looked really bad. Thankfully I gave it another shot! As you can see in the picture it has a light shimmer in it which can look quite intimidating but it’s not that noticeable once on the skin. However, I would not recommend this for people with oily skin, it would look too shiny and probably slide off pretty easily. But for us dry-skinned girls it’s perfect!

One thought on “Top 3: Foundations

  1. Pingback: What’s In My Travel Makeup Bag | crushing on blush

Leave a Reply

