My Current Skincare Routine

Up until recently, my skincare routine consisted of makeup wipes to remove what little makeup I had on and then possibly moisturizer if I felt it was necessary. Absolutely horrendous, I know! It was only about two years ago that I actually started using proper skin care products. Now, I’ve found products that work for me and am really happy with my current skincare routine. Surely it could be better, I still have a lot of experimenting to do but some of these products I’m about to show you are definitely here to stay.

A little information before we start, I have mainly dry skin with a mildly shiny T-zone, I have never had acne but have an issue with redness on my cheeks, my skin is pretty sensitive but not to an extreme.

image_Fotorkhg

  1. La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo – This promises to “reduce the appearance of imperfections and unclog pores”. I bought this with the intention of only using it when I had a blemish or two but I now use this religiously every single night on any areas I feel necessary. It works wonders for me! Now, it’s true I don’t get many blemishes (knock on wood!), but when I do, this takes care of it in no time!
    How I use it: I squeeze a small amount on to my finger and apply it to any areas where I tend to get blemishes or clogged pores, which is mostly on my nose, forehead and chin. I also apply a little onto my cheeks. I use it every night.

  2. Alpha-H Liquid Gold – Supposed to “revitalise and assist in firming the skin”. I probably don’t use this nearly as often as I should but when I do, it works okay. I wouldn’t say it makes a tremendous difference in my skin but I have noticed that my skin looks more glowing and feels really smooth. Seeing as I’m young and don’t really have any wrinkles, sun damage or premature aging I wasn’t expecting my skin to be completely renewed after using this but I do like it as a chemical peel every now and then.
    How I use it: Using a cotton pad, I apply it to my face, neck and décolletage once a week, if that. I tend to forget I own this so I don’t use it as much.

  3. Michael Todd True Organics Blue Green Algae Antibacterial Toner – I love this stuff. Whatever traces may be left of makeup and general dirt on my face that my cleanser didn’t remove, which happens less frequently now that I use a proper cleanser, this takes care of it. It doesn’t dry out my skin and it also helps prevent acne or in my case, the odd blemish.
    How I use it: I apply it using a cotton pad all over my face, neck and décolletage every morning and evening.

  4. Weleda Skin Food – This is a very new addition to my skincare routine. It is a super moisturizing creme that is meant for dry and rough skin. It leaves my skin pretty oily so I don’t use this if I’m going somewhere. I mostly use it overnight if I feel my skin needs a moisture boost. It can be used anywhere on your body, I like using it on my face, hands and feet or any areas that might be feeling particularly dry.

image (1)_Fotorh

  1. Estée Lauder Hydrationist Maximum Moisture Creme – This is my nightly moisturizer. I bought it in hopes of it giving my skin the hydration it so sorely needs in the winter, but I’m not sure if I like it. It’s an okay moisturizer but I don’t think I will be repurchasing this when it runs out.
    How I use it: I apply it with my fingers, from the center of my face and in a straight line outwards. By applying it like this, it prevents overstimulating the skin (I read somewhere that it helps but don’t know if it actually has any truth to it). I use it every night.

  2. Emma Hardie Amazing Face Moringa Cleansing Balm – I’m sure everybody has heard of this by now as it’s loved by many. After reading blog post after blog post that raved about this I decided I needed to try it. And, well, I don’t see myself ever replacing this. I love it so much. It smells divine, it melts perfectly  in between your fingers and turns into a milky consistency, it gets off all the makeup and dirt that has accumulated throughout the day and, my favorite part, it leaves your skin feeling moisturized and silky smooth. Something I once saw as a chore is now something I really enjoy and find relaxing. It’s simply the best (well, that I’ve tried anyway).
    How I use it: I take a good amount of the waxy balm, and mix it with a few drops of hot water in the palm of my hand. I then apply it all over my face, massage it in for a 2-3 minutes, eyes included, and finally remove it using a face cloth soaked in hot water.

One product that I failed to include in the pictures is the Embryolisse Lait-Crème Concentré, which is the moisturizer I use in the morning because it’s a great base for makeup. Many makeup artists call this their secret weapon.

I’m still perfecting my skincare routine but I am pretty pleased with most of the products I’m curently using. I am, however, in need of an eye cream. Any recommendations? 

Leave a Reply

